Profile

affreca: Cat Under Blankets (Hiding)

affreca's Journal

Free Account

Created on 2009-04-25 03:05:35 (#122037), last updated 2019-01-27 (3 weeks ago)

1,899 comments received, 353 comments posted

1,515 Journal Entries, 135 Tags, 0 Memories, 7 Icons Uploaded

View extended profile

Name:affreca
Birthdate:Feb 29
Location:United States of America
I wish I had a short label that I liked. I don't. Probably ties to my desire/fear to have a career that defines me. But Affreca is a good enough label.


I read more than is healthy for me. I've culled the book collection most moves, but I still own quite a bit. And I've stopped moving for a while (hopefully). The majority of my reading is science fiction and fantasy, with rare sides of nonfiction or mysteries, usually historical for both.


I suspect I'm infected with Toxoplasma gondii. I'm slightly cat crazy. Thankfully so is my roomate/husband/chauffeur, so he does not complain about living with four cats (see, he had two, and I had two, then we inherited one, have had three die on us, got a new kitten, then got a new cat to keep the kitten occupied so he stopped climbing the curtains).


I'm a Navy vet and a pacifist. I'm still not sure joining was a wise decision, but I'm sort of glad I did it. I'm also glad I'm out. I do not think that way. But it paid my student loan debts, showed me the world and has helped get me a job a couple of times.


I'm liberal. I blame my parents. I believe in legalized pot (even though I don't smoke), personal liberties and gay marriage (though I'm not sure about me and marriage). I recycle and compost. I believe in local grown food more than organic.


I craft. Not as much as I want, or think I should. I learned how to sew, weave, spin and dye in high school, though I'm still not a master at any. Maybe when I have 40 more years experience, like some of the women in my guild. I like to make jewelry, but don't wear much, so I'm not sure what to do with it when I'm done. I've sold it in the past, and currently not brave enough to find another store to sell to. I can draw celtic knotwork, and about once every 3 years finish embroidering a design I made. I try not to sing in public. Which is why the crow is my favorite bird (amongst other reasons).


I'm not terribly social. Occasionally I feel guilty about that. Or not.


My schooling is as a geophysicist. I tried to avoid learning about how to find oil, as I never wanted to live in Houston. Currently I am working in environmental geology for the government. I fight to keep your water drinkable, and your dirt clean.


I hope that is enough. Quite a bit about me.
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth:
Elsewhere: